The seminal text on the Kaulavalinirnaya Tantra, now available as an eBook
Contact Information
MetaPlume
Prakasha Publishing
Bangalore, India
Bangalore Karnataka, 560038

66166200

Sir John Woodroffe's introduction to a Sanskrit edition of the Kaulavalinirnaya now on Amazon

Online PR News – 24-February-2012 –Bangalore, India, 24 February 2012 – Prakasha Publishing has today published Sir John Woodroffe’s introduction to the Kaulavalinirnaya Tantra.
Sir John Woodroffe translated, studied and wrote about Hindu tantra texts during the early 20th century under the pseudonym Arthur Avalon. He is perhaps most well known for his translation of the Mahanirvanatantram tantra from the original Sanskrit, and for ‘Shakti and Shakta: essays and addresses on the Shakta Tantrashastra’. His work influenced the acceptance of Hindu philosophy as a complex structured belief system in the West, especially academically.
The Kaulavalinirnaya Tantra was another text that Wooddroffe translated and although no English translation survives Woodroffe’s lengthy “Introduction” does. In it, Woodroffe summarizes each chapter of the text and he also includes the mantras and oblations (in English).
The Kaulavalinirnaya Tantra provides instruction on the place of sexual intercourse in the life of a Brahman, including social ethics and reverence for women. Rituals are also explained, the goals of which are to attain liberation, pleasure and siddhis.
Whilst it’s regrettable that a full translation of the Kaulavalinirnaya Tantra in English is not available, Woodroffe’s generous summary allows the reader to come to know this marvellous ancient text and have access to mantras from the 16-17th century that are so highly revered by the Kula school.
It is hoped that with this eBook edition of Woodroffe’s work it will be more widely read and understood.
Mike Magee has translated many ancient tantrik texts containing much highly regarded material. In this eBook Mike introduces Sir John’s writings about the Kaulavalinirnaya Tantra.

This eBook is available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007CKSY5E. You can read the eBook on your desktop, smartphone, eReader, tablet and other devices.

More information is available on the website www.tantratexts.com

eBooks by Mike Magee

Annotations on the Sacred Writings of the Hindus: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/annotations-on-the-sacred-writings-of-the-hindus.aspx
The Magic of Ganesha: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/the-magic-of-ganesha.aspx
Yoni Tantra: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/the-yoni-tantra.aspx
Tantrik Astrology: A Manual of Sidereal Astrology: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/tantrik-astrology-a-manual-of-sidereal-astrology.aspx
The Book of the Brazen Angel: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/the-book-of-the-brazen-angel.aspx
The Grade Papers of the Magical Order of AMOOKOS: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/the-grade-papers-of-the-magical-order-of-amookos.aspx
The Matrikabheda Tantra: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/the-matrikabheda-tantra.aspx
The Mysteries of the Red Goddess: http://www.tantratexts.com/ebookdetails/the-mysteries-of-the-red-goddess.aspx

About Mike Magee

Mike Magee started to learn Sanskrit in the mid 1970s, initially taking lessons at the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan in London. At that time he was aco-editor of the influential East-West magazine SOTHiS. He researched widely at the India Office and the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, digging up manuscripts which hadn’t seen the light of day for years. In 1981 he was lucky enough to break his leg and it didn’t heal for four years, which gave him lots of time to attempt translations of core texts. Magee has translated many texts since then, including the Vamakeshvarimata, the Matrikabhedatantra and the Yoni Tantra.

He has a website at www.shivashakti.com which contains much highly regarded material about the traditions. As well as his Sanskrit studies in his brown room, Magee also co-founded several influential tech magazines such as The Register and the INQUIRER. He currently edits www.techeye.net.

http://www.tantriktexts.com/

Prakasha Publishing PR Contact

Email: pr@tantratexts.com

Bookmarkse-mailGoogledel.icio.usStumbleUponSlashdotFurlDiggTechnoratiYahooMyWebBlinkListSpurlRawSugarWists
Copyright 2014 Online PR Media | PO Box 5043 | La Quinta, CA 92248